Tri Talk HomepageTri Talk EventsTri Talk ForumsBlogsTri Talk TrainingTri TradeTriPlayerWikiTeam Tri Talk
Di2 fitting to road bikes aerobars.....
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    TriTalk.co.uk Forum Index -> Gear
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
RookieSam




Joined: 28 Sep 2017
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Tue Feb 12, 2019 3:38 pm    Post subject: Di2 fitting to road bikes aerobars..... Reply with quote

Afternoon all,

Wonder if I can pick some brains.... I have a Giant Propel Adv with Di2 and use aero bars for long distance stuff (no budget for a Tri bike too).

I've been thinking and it looks doable, if I had aero bars with pop off ends I could simply run some Di2 TT shifters to the ends and change my 3 junction to a 5 junction box meaning I can change gear on the aero or normal bars....

Firstly, is this possible and what am I looking for in terms of compatibility? My current 3 junction box says EW90-A on it?

Alternatively, in my normal handle bars, I peeled off the rubber and it looks as though there are 2 ports free, is this a goer?

Any advice/questions for me to check would be much appreciated!

Cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
Tahr




Joined: 12 Feb 2015
Posts: 173
Location: South West Scotland

PostPosted: Tue Feb 12, 2019 3:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I did exactly that with my Giant TCR, it meant I had shifters on the TT bars and where the brakes where so I could change gear when climbing or in the TT position.
_________________
http://www.annananddistrictathleticclub.co.uk/index.asp?pageid=578677

Fitness forged in the furnace of competition.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RookieSam




Joined: 28 Sep 2017
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Tue Feb 12, 2019 3:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Tahr, what was your setup before and what did you do to complete it? Worth it etc?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
mattsurf




Joined: 28 Sep 2016
Posts: 842
Location: Zug, Switzerland

PostPosted: Tue Feb 12, 2019 4:04 pm    Post subject: Re: Di2 fitting to road bikes aerobars..... Reply with quote

RookieSam wrote:
Afternoon all,

Wonder if I can pick some brains.... I have a Giant Propel Adv with Di2 and use aero bars for long distance stuff (no budget for a Tri bike too).

I've been thinking and it looks doable, if I had aero bars with pop off ends I could simply run some Di2 TT shifters to the ends and change my 3 junction to a 5 junction box meaning I can change gear on the aero or normal bars....

Firstly, is this possible and what am I looking for in terms of compatibility? My current 3 junction box says EW90-A on it?

Alternatively, in my normal handle bars, I peeled off the rubber and it looks as though there are 2 ports free, is this a goer?

Any advice/questions for me to check would be much appreciated!

Cheers


With a 5 port junction box it is 100% feasible, and works well, however, you will also require to configure the setup with the shimano e-tube project software, best bet is to get a bike shop to do this or hire the connection kit (my bike shop charged 20 to let me borrow the connection kit). Not Shimano e-tube project not compatible with Apple mac, you will need a PC

I believe that it will also work wiring directly to the spare port in the shifters, hence no need to buy junction box, however, I cant recall if the cable from the bar end shifter is long enough (I think it is, but worth checking) and if you want to take the TT bars off regularly (because they do look ugly) you will need to re-wrap the bar tape every time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RookieSam




Joined: 28 Sep 2017
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Wed Feb 13, 2019 7:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Matt,

Thanks for the thorough answer. OK, as I thought, so please correct me if I'm way off here...... to purchase then (and please advise me if I'm way off......)

Di2 5 junction box
TT bars with end caps that come off
Di2 TT shifters with enough wiring back to the box (such as this: https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/SHIMANO-DURA-ACE-DI2-SW-R671-TT-TRI-Bar-end-SHIFTERS-11-SPEED/123640600367?hash=item1cc98dd72f:g:1UkAAOSw3eRcYWnq:rk:4:pf:1&frcectupt=true


Then simply drop it to my local bike shop for setup? As you say, I take the bars off because they are FUGLY so the junction box is the better option!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
stenard




Joined: 04 Sep 2013
Posts: 2059

PostPosted: Wed Feb 13, 2019 8:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't understand why matt is suggesting you need the help of a bike shop? I just plug my battery charger into my laptop, open up the etube software, and can then setup whatever I want. The main upside of di2 is how I see it as plug and play.

I got the new battery, and inline Bluetooth piece, and just stuck them in the system, and it was all good to go.

Unless I'm missing something?
_________________
My blog: https://stenardstuff.wordpress.com/
Random stuff and race reports
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mattsurf




Joined: 28 Sep 2016
Posts: 842
Location: Zug, Switzerland

PostPosted: Wed Feb 13, 2019 9:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

stenard wrote:
I don't understand why matt is suggesting you need the help of a bike shop? I just plug my battery charger into my laptop, open up the etube software, and can then setup whatever I want. The main upside of di2 is how I see it as plug and play.

I got the new battery, and inline Bluetooth piece, and just stuck them in the system, and it was all good to go.

Unless I'm missing something?


Good point, It depends on what age Di2 you have, mine had Di2 with external battery, I didn't realise that you can plug battery charger directly into PC, if that it is the case, it removes an element of hassle from the process
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stenard




Joined: 04 Sep 2013
Posts: 2059

PostPosted: Wed Feb 13, 2019 9:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ah, ok. I forget about external batteries. For internal ones, the charger doubles up as the software update cable
_________________
My blog: https://stenardstuff.wordpress.com/
Random stuff and race reports
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mattsurf




Joined: 28 Sep 2016
Posts: 842
Location: Zug, Switzerland

PostPosted: Wed Feb 13, 2019 9:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

RookieSam wrote:
Hi Matt,

Thanks for the thorough answer. OK, as I thought, so please correct me if I'm way off here...... to purchase then (and please advise me if I'm way off......)

Di2 5 junction box
TT bars with end caps that come off
Di2 TT shifters with enough wiring back to the box (such as this: https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/SHIMANO-DURA-ACE-DI2-SW-R671-TT-TRI-Bar-end-SHIFTERS-11-SPEED/123640600367?hash=item1cc98dd72f:g:1UkAAOSw3eRcYWnq:rk:4:pf:1&frcectupt=true


Then simply drop it to my local bike shop for setup? As you say, I take the bars off because they are FUGLY so the junction box is the better option!


It is a simple job to do yourself, unless you are really uncertain, there is not much that can go wrong

Those shifters on ebay look right

You will need the 5 port box

You need clip on tri bars with plugs in the end, they are standard diameter. I had a pair of Profile Design Clip on Bars, they also had a small hole 75% of the way down the bar that the cable fed through. These are the bars I had

https://www.sigmasports.com/item/Profile-Design/Carbon-Stryke-Aerobar/GS


Do you currently have clip on tri bars? if not do you know that your current bars are suitable for clip on tri bars? many of the bars with an aerodynamic profile are not suitable / or require special mount from manufacturer, if you have round alloy bars then they are fine (I needed to change my bars)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RookieSam




Joined: 28 Sep 2017
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Wed Feb 13, 2019 11:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

mattsurf wrote:
RookieSam wrote:
Hi Matt,

Thanks for the thorough answer. OK, as I thought, so please correct me if I'm way off here...... to purchase then (and please advise me if I'm way off......)

Di2 5 junction box
TT bars with end caps that come off
Di2 TT shifters with enough wiring back to the box (such as this: https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/SHIMANO-DURA-ACE-DI2-SW-R671-TT-TRI-Bar-end-SHIFTERS-11-SPEED/123640600367?hash=item1cc98dd72f:g:1UkAAOSw3eRcYWnq:rk:4:pf:1&frcectupt=true


Then simply drop it to my local bike shop for setup? As you say, I take the bars off because they are FUGLY so the junction box is the better option!


It is a simple job to do yourself, unless you are really uncertain, there is not much that can go wrong

Those shifters on ebay look right

You will need the 5 port box

You need clip on tri bars with plugs in the end, they are standard diameter. I had a pair of Profile Design Clip on Bars, they also had a small hole 75% of the way down the bar that the cable fed through. These are the bars I had

https://www.sigmasports.com/item/Profile-Design/Carbon-Stryke-Aerobar/GS


Do you currently have clip on tri bars? if not do you know that your current bars are suitable for clip on tri bars? many of the bars with an aerodynamic profile are not suitable / or require special mount from manufacturer, if you have round alloy bars then they are fine (I needed to change my bars)


See below, does this seem legit?

I have clip on try bars but they aren't comfy so going to get some proper ones which the arm rests can be moved so something like the Profile Design series i.e...... https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Profile-Design-T1-Triathlon-bars/401700187222?hash=item5d87326c56:g:FlwAAOSw8zRcVu8~:rk:14:pf:0

Noted on the 5 port box to replace my 3 port.

My Di2 is as per the below bike, there's a bulge on the outside guessing it's the battery? I have a laptop and if anything can be connected I'd of course give it a try or is this a solid no go?

https://www.giant-bicycles.com/gb/propel-advanced-0-2016
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
RookieSam




Joined: 28 Sep 2017
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Wed Feb 13, 2019 11:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

stenard wrote:
I don't understand why matt is suggesting you need the help of a bike shop? I just plug my battery charger into my laptop, open up the etube software, and can then setup whatever I want. The main upside of di2 is how I see it as plug and play.

I got the new battery, and inline Bluetooth piece, and just stuck them in the system, and it was all good to go.

Unless I'm missing something?


See above link Stenard = It's 2016 Di2 and I run the D-Fly too at the back for gearing info on my Wahoo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
stenard




Joined: 04 Sep 2013
Posts: 2059

PostPosted: Wed Feb 13, 2019 11:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

RookieSam wrote:
See below, does this seem legit?

I have clip on try bars but they aren't comfy so going to get some proper ones which the arm rests can be moved so something like the Profile Design series i.e...... https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Profile-Design-T1-Triathlon-bars/401700187222?hash=item5d87326c56:g:FlwAAOSw8zRcVu8~:rk:14:pf:0

Noted on the 5 port box to replace my 3 port.

My Di2 is as per the below bike, there's a bulge on the outside guessing it's the battery? I have a laptop and if anything can be connected I'd of course give it a try or is this a solid no go?

https://www.giant-bicycles.com/gb/propel-advanced-0-2016

RookieSam wrote:
See above link Stenard = It's 2016 Di2 and I run the D-Fly too at the back for gearing info on my Wahoo

The handlebars on that look "normal", so those profile design clip ons should be fine.

I would imagine that bike has the battery in the seatpost. Do you currently charge the battery by just plugging into the junction box and hooking up to a power supply?

Which D-fly do you have? The original EWW01 or either of the newer EW-WU111 / EW-WU101? Based on 2016, I'm probably guessing the former. In which case you wont be able to do setup stuff without a computer (but using the same battery charging cable you plug into the junction box).
_________________
My blog: https://stenardstuff.wordpress.com/
Random stuff and race reports
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RookieSam




Joined: 28 Sep 2017
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Wed Feb 13, 2019 12:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've got D-Fly EWW01

I charge up the battery plugging into the junction box then into a USB into the wall.....

I have a laptop at home so presumably just need some software?! Is it really that simple?

Much appreciated for all your help here.

Sam
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
stenard




Joined: 04 Sep 2013
Posts: 2059

PostPosted: Wed Feb 13, 2019 12:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yep, if you already have the internal battery charger, then it's a piece of cake. You just need to download the etube software.

Surprised you haven't done that already to be honest ... I tweaked around with the shift settings on my TT bike the moment I got it.

And as I said before, everything else is plug and play. When I replaced my battery, I just unplugged the original one, plugged in the new one, loaded up etube, and it recognised the new component immediately. With new shifters, I wouldn't be surprised if they just worked straight away without any setup whatsoever, but within etube you'll be able to select which new shifter button does what.
_________________
My blog: https://stenardstuff.wordpress.com/
Random stuff and race reports
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mattsurf




Joined: 28 Sep 2016
Posts: 842
Location: Zug, Switzerland

PostPosted: Wed Feb 13, 2019 2:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It looks like it should be a completely straight forward job. With mine it did not recognize the shifters, but as soon as I plugged in e-tube project it picked them up

The other advantage of the e-tube project sw is that it allows you to do firmware upgrade, there have been some changes to improve shift quality and improve battery life
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    TriTalk.co.uk Forum Index -> Gear All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2
  Share
 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum





Home | About TT | Privacy Policy | Terms and Conditions | Advertising | Contact TT
Copyright ©2003-2015 TriTalk®.co.uk. All rights reserved.